COMMITTEES

Committees and their members serve a vital purpose in forming the direction of the Oregon Seed Association and promoting the cause of the organization:

  • Committees serve as a training ground for future association leaders.
  • Committees serve as a conduit through which the Board receives member input.
  • Committees enhance the effectiveness of the Board of Directors by providing research analysis and advice needed for policy decisions.

Get involved!

Committees are an important link between the members and the Board of Directors, but committees need members in order to be effective! Member input, involvement and participation is a must.

Please consider participating in the association process and volunteering to serve on one or more of the committees listed below. To sign up, contact the committee chair listed below, or Angie Smith, Executive Director,  at 503-685-7555 or smith@pacwestcom.com.

— Click here to get list of ADVISORY COMMITTEES & BOARDS —

 

If you have an issue that needs attention, please reach out to the appropriate committee chair below:

EXECUTIVE
President: James Schneider, Barenbrug USA, jschneider@barusa.com
Vice President: Doug Pickles, Lewis Seed, dpickles@lewisseed.com
Secretary/Treasurer: JP Olson, Proseeds Marketing, jolson@proseeds.net
Executive Director: Angie Smith, Pac/West Communications, smith@pacwestcom.com

Responsible for the overall strategic execution of the association. The past president works alongside the Executive Committee as an advisor.

 

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Chair: Brenda Landis, Allied Seed, blandis@alliedseed.com
Co-Chair: Dustin Withee, Smith Seed Services, dustin@smithseed.com
Subcommittees: GE Stewardship, Specialty Seed

Responsible for matters involving research, seed certification, seed testing, working with labs, and governmental and private regulatory and research organizations.

 

DATA & PRODUCTION
Chair: Lucas Solis, Pure Seed, lsolis@pureseed.com
Co-Chair: Sean Chaney, DLF Pickseed

Responsible for OSA production surveys as well as collection of other relevant industry data deemed necessary by the Board.

 

LOGISTICS & FREIGHT
Chair: Dustin Withee, Smith Seed Services, dustin@smithseed.com
Co-Chair: Stacy Kuenzi, Mountain View Seeds, stacy@mtviewseeds.com

Shall advise the Board and the Association in all matter of freight, including rail, truck and ocean carriers.

 

LEGISLATIVE
Chair: JP Olson, Proseeds Marketing, jolson@proseeds.net
Co-Chair: Joe McAlhany, Jr., Nutrien Ag, joe.mcalhanyjr@nutrienag.com

Shall advise the Board in all matters of legislation, federal or state, affecting the seed trade. Coordinate with association lobbyist and represent the OSA at the state Capitol with legislators.

 

PUBLIC RELATIONS/SCHOLARSHIP
Chair: Phill Lindgren, GO Seed, plindgren@goseed.com
Co-Chair: Doug Pickles, Lewis Seed, dpickles@lewisseed.com
Subcommittees:
Scholarship Chair: Dustin Withee, Smith Seed Services, dustin@smithseed.com
Associates Chair: Terri Burr, Pennington Seed, tburr@penningtonseed.com
EP Chair:

To promote OSA to schools, governments, other seed trades, young professionals and general public. Work closely with Associate members to maximize their value in being a part of the OSA.