Mid-Winter Meeting

The OSA winter meeting is held every year in January in Salem, Oregon. The one day event consists of committee and general member meetings, workshops, and includes lunch. Scholarship awards are presented to eligible applicants. The day concludes with an evening reception to honor past OSA association presidents.

REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN: The 2018 meeting will be held January 16, 2018, at the Salem Convention Center, 200 Commercial St SE, Salem, OR 97301. There is free parking underneath the building, which is shared with The Grand Hotel.

Register online or download the agenda and registration form. Payment may be made by check or credit card. The preliminary meeting agenda is below.

Registration must be received by January 8, 2018, to avoid late registration fees. If you have any questions, please contact Angie Smith at smith@pacwestcom.com or 503-685-7555.

LODGING: For lodging reservations contact The Grand Hotel at 503-540-7800. Rate are $129/night and the OSA block expires: December 15, 2017.

SPONSORSHIP PACKAGES: Available here. Sponsors are encouraged to use the downloaded meeting registration form as many packages include complementary event registration.


7:00–7:50 am
Full Breakfast Buffet
Exhibitor Booths

7:50-8:00 am

Keynote Speech
8:00-8:45 am

Opening Comments & Vendor Presentations
8:45–8:55 am

8:55–9:55 am
Chair: Doug Pickles, Lewis Seed Co.
Co-Chair: Debra Barnes, SiteOne Landscape

Traffic Update
9:55–10:15 am

Vendor Presentations
10:15–10:20 pm

10:20–10:50 am
Chair: Paul Hedgpeth, Columbia River Seed
Co-Chair: James Schneider, Barenbrug USA

Break & Exhibitors
10:50–11:00 am

Sexual Harassment Seminar
11:00 am-12:00 pm

Lunch & Scholarship Presentations
12:00–1:00 pm
Scholarship Awards Presentation
Chair: Nancy Aerni, Turf Merchants, Inc.

–No speaker scheduled at lunch break to allow attendees time to mingle and visit exhibitors.–

Vendor Presentations
1:00–1:05 pm

1:05–1:25 pm
Chair: Phill Lindgren, Grassland Oregon
Co-Chair: Mandi Mack, Vista Seed Partners

Science & Technology
1:25–2:05 pm
Chair: Mandi Mack, Vista Seed Partners
Co-Chair: JP Olson, Proseeds Marketing

General Session (All members welcome)
2:05–3:50 pm

  • Financial & Membership Reports
  • ODA Market Access and Certification Programs
  • American Seed Trade Association
  • Pacific Seed Association
  • Strategic Plan Review
  • Public Relations Committee Report

Break & Exhibitors
3:50–4:00 pm

Associates Committee
4:00–4:45 pm
Chair: Doug Pickles, Lewis Seed Co.

Closed Session (Active members only)
4:00–5:00 pm

  • Membership Vote
  • Dealer Representation at OGSBA Negotiation Meetings
  • Resolution Committee Update
  • Associates Committee Update

Past Presidents Reception (open to all Past Presidents and paid attendees)
5:00–6:30 pm